Francis Drake, Privateer

A privateer was a private warship authorized by his country to attack foreign shipping

Does God speak or give dreams to sinners?…….6 June 09

The question in the title above represents the thoughts of many Christians I have encountered. Why would God who is Holy, speak to non Christians. Also because they are in rebellion they wouldn’t be able to hear him until they are born again? The additional problem is that the average Christian  rarely seems to experience the voice of God, therefore it would be entirely wrong to countenance the idea of God talking to his enemies when he doesn’t seem to give time to talk to his own. There is another way of considering this question. Does Satan talk to unbelievers and sinners. Does Satan draw them both along with evil ideas hoping that evil fruit will ensue. I know its a bit of a daft point, but often when you reframe a question or statement in a slightly obtuse or inverse way the answer stand out in neon lights. Satan can, and constantly does, speak into both saints and sinner’s lives. Witness Adam in the Garden of Eden, or Jesus in the wilderness and also all those demonised people who Jesus healed in the gospels. If Satan or demons are shown doing such things, then to maintain that God doesn’t, can’t or won’t speak to ANYONE who listens is plain absurd. (or perhaps just religious). Delving deeper

  1. Everyone, saint and sinner has a spirit man, (remember we are body, soul, and spirit) . Our spirit man has five senses like the physical man. The problem is that in the western world, we have put our spirit senses to sleep, in favour of our physical senses. Our physical senses however are deaf and blind to the things of the spirit. This makes actually hearing God an unfamiliar idea.   Remember, “he who has an ear to hear….”
  2. Disconcerting though it may be, many New Agers can comprehend things of the spirit far better than most Christians I have met. The problem with New Agers is that they keep bad spiritual company, and are thus also likely to be deceived.
  3. Christians on the other hand obviously know much better, they just disallow all spiritual voices out of fear, (unless they’ve checked it with their Pastor). They instinctively know such voices must be demonic!
  4. If the gospel is “spiritually” discerned, how can a non Christian possibly understand it, when his spirit is supposed to be dead?
  5. What about Nebucadnezzar’s dreams? They were clearly from God.
  6. What about Pilate’s wife’s dream, whatever that was, it troubled her greatly!
  7. What about the Muslims, many of whom are receiving dreams about the deity of Jesus?
  8. What about Jesus who was God in the flesh, (if you have seen me you have seen the Father), who spent all his time with sinners for the very reason that they would hear him whereas the religious leadership wouldn’t listen.

Perhaps maybe just a little, God does talk and give dreams to sinners as well as saints! Has anyone experienced God speaking to them, in words or dreams, before they “became a Christian”.

June 6, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. what about john 9.31

    Comment by dean | August 10, 2009

  2. Thanks Dean
    Its an interesting verse which you refer to.
    In my post, I was referring to sinners hearing God, not God hearing sinners as this verse seems to say.
    Also it seems that it was actually spoken by an ordinary person who had just received healing from Jesus. Therefore the words although recorded in the scriptures cannot be given the authority of scriptural doctrine.

    Lets look at some thoughts regarding God hearing sinners, if that is the point you are making.

    If a sinner was not to be heard by God, how would a sinner ever come to God, as indeed we all do.

    Jesus spent all of his ministry listening to sinners, and when they asked to “see the Father” he said to them,”if you have seen me you have seen the Father”. ie he embodied the Father.

    If Jesus listened to a sinner like me, then he will listen to all sinners who come to him.

    If Satan was in the midst of the assembly which came before the throne of God, and was able to address God, then I just think that God might also have a little time for the ordinary mortal.

    Perhaps you have further thoughts on this. Also what do you actually think about the gist of what is in my original posting.
    Frank

    Comment by Frank | August 10, 2009

  3. I have had a lot of things happen to me within the last couple months. I started going to church recently but I’m still an everyday sinner. I saw an angel when I was young and now I feel like God is trying to tell me something again. While in church last Sunday I felt him give me the biggest hug of my life. I couldn’t move my arms. Last week I herd a man whisper in my left ear but I couldn’t understand what was being said. I honestly believe this is God trying to work in me… could it be?

    Comment by Chelsea | December 14, 2010

  4. Chelsea, Yes I definitely believe that God is speaking to you.

    “He who has an ear let him hear”. (This applies to women as well as men!)
    God desires fellowship with his children, deep fellowship. Yet we get so wound up with our behaviour. We spend so much effort trying to be good enough, that we forget that he paid for and liberated us when we were still bad.

    Look at how Jesus treated ALL who desired to know him. He turned none away. Even when he knew their sin, he was more desiring of their fellowship than of pointing out their sin.

    Start to believe that he loves you, that you are his beloved daughter, that he truly wants to Father you.
    When you accept that your relationship towards God has nothing to do whether you are an everyday sinner or a perfect saint, but to the fact that you are a daughter first and foremost. You didn’t get there by following a rule book or laws. Your dwelling place right now is in the household of God.

    Once you start to take hold of that, your eyes will start to open more and you will see and hear things from God’s perspective. You will also begin to understand His will for your life more fully.

    God is truly able to Father his creation, and do it lovingly without us jumping through loads of hoops like circus dogs.

    Please let me know how your hearing God develops.
    Frank

    Comment by francisdrakeprivateer | December 19, 2010

  5. I Really need help I’ve a dreams and feeling all my life I grow up in a spiritual family I do go to chruch and know the word of god but I am a everyday sinner as well I ve tried calling peopl and talk to “preacher” but no lucky I need help or someone to help me out to make sure I’m not crazy

    Comment by Stacy | January 10, 2015


Leave a Reply

