Francis Drake, Privateer

A privateer was a private warship authorized by his country to attack foreign shipping

THE PERSON FORMALLY KNOWN AS YOUR LEADER

 

http://retrofited.blogspot.com/2007/06/person-formerly-known-as-your-leader.html 

Please only glance at this excerpt pasted below but GO TO THE LINK ABOVE FOR HER AMAZING POST, AND AMAZING BLOG

********************************************************************

 

I am the Person Formerly Known as Your Leader

Because of all this, I need to repent and ask your forgiveness. I was wrong. I thought wrong things. I believed wrong things. I modeled wrong things. I taught wrong things. I was wrong. I have sinned against you and the others and against my grace loving, mercy giving, all powerful, all loving God.

– I repent for teaching and modeling that the “covering” of our church, my leadership, and our network would keep you from going into rebellion or deception.

– I took your private confidences and passed them on to the other leaders regardless of my telling you that I wouldn’t. I told myself that this was an accepted practice to gain wisdom in dealing with your situation. Now I see it was probably mostly to garner, in some twisted way, the favor of my leaders, to show my loyalty and to gain a better placement of myself in their leadership system.

– I taught, modeled and practiced tithing. I taught you that if you didn’t tithe, bad things would happen to you and/or your finances. Now I understand the fallacy of this. It is a fear tactic – and it is not of God.

– I did not stand up and speak up when I heard and saw something wrong being taught, lived, or modeled. In this way, you, as people who respected me had neither voice nor protection. There were many times I should have spoken up gently/humbly to correct other leaders around me. I wrongly felt that it was up to God to correct and deal with them. That it was not my “place” to correct “God’s Anointed.”

– I wanted to be seen by leaders as loyal and mostly I wanted to be in what I perceived as one of the “inner circles of friendship.” I bought their friendship with flattering words, serving them unconditionally, not making waves, not challenging them and being disloyal to what I sometimes knew was wrong. I was a religious whore.

– I taught you that with leaders, you did not have the right to expect friendship or any sort of loyalty back. I told you that you should become what I had become, completely a servant. They owed you and me nothing. I have learned to watch out for “friendships” where I am the servant only. I have learned my “servanthood” was nothing more than trying to manipulate myself into prominence.

– I taught that the church was an Army and that we therefore needed Generals and Sergeants to lead us. (I of course saw myself as the sergeant – not the head but certainly one of the right arms of the head.) Again, I did not read my Bible.

ETC, ETC.

PLEASE ADD COMMENTS HERE AS WELL AS ON HER BLOG

March 11, 2009 - Posted by | Bible, CHURCH, Eternity, Gospel, Kingdom life, Knowing God, Leadership, Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Yes, awesome, Frank. The kind of awesome that can downright set someone free. This speaks volumes!!

    Comment by Free Spirit | March 17, 2009


Leave a Reply

